Auckland Ultimate Secondary Schools Championship 2014

Tournament report by Ethan Taylor

The Auckland Ultimate Secondary Schools Championships had great weather and massive turnout as teams from around Auckland came out for a last hit-out before the end of term 1. 16 teams in all played and there were some very close games, as well as convincing wins throughout the day in both divisions.

As expected, the final for the Open division was a rematch of the Nationals final between Auckland Grammar School 1 and Westlake Boys High School. Both teams had gotten through the day without dropping a game, although Westlake had a couple of close calls with fiercely contested games against both Northcote College and Pakuranga College 1. The final itself however, was another step up again. It was a game of runs, with the lead switching hands multiple times as the clock ticked down. Auckland Grammar, finding themselves in a familiar position of being behind close to cap, managed to score seconds before the horn to level the game at 7-7, game to 8. Westlake looked deep early and almost pulled it off, but conceded possession for the final time as Auckland Grammar marched the disc back up the field to take the point, the game, and the Championship 8-7.

The Girls division had very close games as well, including multiple draws showing how little separation there was between the majority of the teams. Epsom Girls Grammar School however showed what they wanted to bring to schools ultimate with a series of convincing wins, and taking out the Championship undefeated.

Final standings and winners:P1040351

Open Division

1 – Auckland Grammar School 1
2 – Westlake Boys
3 – Northcote College
4 – Green Bay College 2
5 – Pakuranga College 1
6 – Green Bay College 1
7 – Ormiston College
8 – Mt Roskill Grammar School 1
9 – Auckland Grammar School 2
10 – Mt Roskill Grammar School 2
11 – Pakuranga College 2

Girls Division

1 – Epsom Girls Grammar School
2 – Baradene College 1
3 – Baradene College 2
4 – Mt Roskill Grammar School
5 – Pakuranga College

MVP Open – Eugene – Northcote
Spirit Open – Auckland Grammar School 1
Winners Open – Auckland Grammar School 1

MVP Womens – Diana – Mt Roskill Grammar School
Spirit Womens – Pakuranga College
Winners Womens – Epsom Girls Grammar School